The University of Abuja in Nigeria’s Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja was established on January 1, 1988 as a dual-mode university with the mandate to run conventional (regular degree, diploma, and postgraduate programmes) and distance learning programmes (due to its location in the Federal Capital Territory to provide university education to students who cannot acquire such level of education through the regular university learning system but are interested in acquiring University level knowledge and skills).

Its VISION is to develop an institution of higher learning that combines academic excellence with the pursuit of the unity of Nigeria while its MISSION is to provide instructional, research, and public service programmes appropriate to a university of high standing that guarantees academic excellence and to operate a strong and virile distance learning component that ensures equal educational access to a larger constituency.


The College of Health Sciences of the University of Abuja was established in October 2004, but admitted its first set of students in the 2005/2006 academic session.

Its VISION is to become a model national unity medical school excelling in medical education and research while its MISSION is to promote the prevention, treatment, and understanding of disease through excellence in teaching, clinical practice, and medical research. The College has 3 Faculties viz: Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences, and the Faculty of Clinical Sciences. Its MOTTO is Solum Optimum – Only the Best!


The University of Abuja Teaching Hospital is located in Gwagwalada in the Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria. It is a 350 - bed hospital with a facility for expansion to 500 beds. The hospital metamorphosed from a Specialist Hospital in 1982 under the Federal Capital Development Authority, FCDA, to a Federal Medical Centre in 1993 following its transfer to the Federal Ministry of Health and in September 2006, was upgraded to a Teaching Hospital for the University of Abuja.


To be a world-class tertiary health institution providing excellent services in patient care, research, and training.


A well-equipped modern tertiary health facility with a dedicated and well-motivated workforce that would render qualitative and effective specialist health care services to all in a humane, transparent manner and friendly environment, to provide clinical teachings in all medical fields at undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

Research Team at University of Abuja:

Oseremen I. Aisuodionoe-Shadrach, MBBS, FWACS. Urol, MBA

Principal Investigator

Associate Professor of Surgery/ Consultant Urologist & Head, Division of Urology,

Department of Surgery,

University of Abuja Teaching Hospital,


Ajibola Olalekan Hafees, MBBS, FWACS (Urology)

Consultant Urologist

Urology Division, Department of Surgery

University of Abuja Teaching Hospital


Olabode Peter Oluwole, M.B.B.S., FMCPath

Associate Professor of Pathology (Morbid Anatomy)

Department of Pathology/Forensic Medicine

Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences,

College of Health Sciences.

University of Abuja

Maxwell M. Nwegbu

Department of Chemical Pathology

University of Abuja Teaching Hospital


P.M.B 228, Abuja, Nigeria

Mustapha Abubakar JAMDA
Department of Community Medicine
College of Health Sciences

University of Abuja

University of Abuja and University of Abuja Teaching Hospital, Abuja, Nigeria

MADCaP Network
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
450 Brookline Avenue
Boston, MA 02215

Supported by Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

MADCaP is grant-funded by the National Cancer Institute

© Copyright 2016-2020 

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

Use of MADCaP is subject to our terms of use and our privacy policy.